Top login menu

Murray Edwards College
University of Cambridge

Notable alumnae

  • Home
  • Main page content

    Photo of Alumna Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell (left)
    Alumna Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell (left) with Fellows

    Our alumnae and their impact on the world

    Alumnae of the College have made a significant impact on the world over the last 60 years, becoming leaders of companies, public bodies, charities and their communities. Over and over again, our former students tell us they found their path - and the courage to follow it - at Murray Edwards College. 


    Baroness Haleh Afshar (NH 1967) – founding member of the Muslims Women’s Network. Professor of Politics and Women's Studies, University of York.

    Bina Agarwal (NH 1970) – Professor of Development Economics and Environment, University of Manchester

    Rosemary Ashby (NH 1961) – Former President, Pine Manor College, USA

    Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell (NH 1965) – Astrophysicist who discovered pulsars and was also the first female president of the Institute of Physics

    Sheila Brown (NH 1966) – Former President and Vice-Chancellor, Mount Saint Vincent University, Canada

    Kate Pretty CBE (NH 1965) – Former Principal, Homerton College, Cambridge

    Dame Jessica Rawson (NH 1962) – Art historian

    Sonya Stephens (NH 1982) – President Emerita, Mount Holyoke College, USA

    Dame Barbara Stocking (NH 1969) – President Emerita Murray Edwards College; Chair of Panel for a Global Public Health Convention


    Writers, journalists and broadcasters

    Gina Barreca (NH 1979) – Women's humourist, writer, speaker, and Professor of Feminist Theory

    Ursula Buchan (NH 1971) – Award-winning garden author and lecturer

    Lisa Burke (NH 1995)  Author of children’s science books. Former Sky TV Weather Presenter

    Frances Edmonds (NH 1970) – Best-selling author, broadcaster, and speaker

    Gillian Gill (NH 1961) – Writer

    Mishal Husain (NH 1992) – Presenter of BBC News, BBC Radio 4’s Today programme and several BBC documentaries, including Malala: Shot for Going to School

    Helen MacDonald (NH 1989) – Author

    Minette Marin (NH 1967) – Journalist, broadcaster and fiction writer

    Maggie O'Farrell (NH 1990) – Author

    Joanna Rossiter (NH 2004) – Author

    Sonia Ruseler (NH 1981) – Corporate Communications Senior Director, Acros Doradas. Former CNN International news presenter

    Hilary Wilce (NH 1967) – Journalist and writer

    Vicki Young (NH 1988) – Chief Political Correspondent, BBC News


    Corporate leaders

    Margaret Cole (NH 1979) – General Counsel of PwC UK and member of the UK Executive Board

    Jane Frost CBE (NH 1975) – Chief Executive, Market Research Society (MRS)

    Liv Garfield (NH 1993) – Chief Executive of Severn Trent

    Fiona Gilmore (NH 1974) – Founder and Chairman, Acanchi Limited


    Healthcare and science

    Siân Griffiths OBE (NH 1970) – Board Member, Public Health England, Director, School of Public Health and Primary Care, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

    Dame Julia King (NH 1972) – Chair of STEM Learning

    Helen Rees (NH 1971) – Distinguished scientist, researcher on HIV/AIDS, reproductive health

    Dr Carina Tyrrell (MEC 2009) – Investor, Cambridge University Global Health and Innovation Doctor, Former Miss United Kingdom

    Fiona Watt (NH 1973) – Director, Centre for Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine, King's College London and CEO of MRC



    Alison Cole (NH 1999) – Legal Officer, Open Society Justice Initiative

    Wendy Joseph QC (NH 1971) – Senior Circuit Judge, the Old Bailey


    Performing arts and entertainment

    Joanna MacGregor OBE (NH 1978) – Concert pianist

    Hattie Morahan (NH 1997) – Actress

    Sue Perkins (NH 1988) – TV presenter, actress, comedian and writer

    Josie Rourke (NH 1995) – Artistic Director, Donmar Warehouse

    Roxana Silbert (NH 1983) – Artistic Director, Birmingham Repertory Theatre

    Sarah Solemani (NH 2002) – Actress and writer

    Deborah Swallow (NH 1966) – Director, The Courtauld Institute of Art

    Tilda Swinton (NH 1980) – Actress

    Nicola Walker (NH 1989) – Actress

    Claudia Winkleman (NH 1990) – TV presenter and broadcaster


    Third sector and government

    Robin Raphael (NH 1969) – Former American diplomat, ambassador, CIA analyst and expert on Pakistan

    Camilla Toulmin (NH 1972) – Senior Fellow, International Institute for Environment and Development

    Catherine Tyack (NH 1998) – Head, NHS England Sponsorship and Commissioning Policy Team, Department of Health

    Christine Wallich (NH 1970) – Trustee in Residence, American Academy in Berlin. Former Director, Independent Evaluation Group at World Bank

    Alice Walpole (NH 1982) – Ambassador to Luxembourg

    Clare Winterton (NH 1990) VP Advocacy & Innovation at Global Fund for Women. Former Executive Director, International Museum of Women